Sweet pink clouds

On a cold and wet winters day ,I decided to fill my cookie tin with colour and some summer. I made James Martin’s very gorgeous whisky and white chocolate bread and butter pudding . My poor husband had nearly a heart attack when I used my best whisky for this. But as for cooking with wine always use the best the same goes for whisky,I keep telling him. The recipe asked for six egg yolks. So I had six egg whites to change into something.

As I have a lot of flower paste in my fridge. I decided to make these mini pink sweet clouds. As an Afrikaans girl I call them “skuimpies” hope you will enjoy them just as much as we do.

Recipe

6 egg whites
500g castor sugar
7ml white vinegar
1 drop off gel food coloring (I used the spectrum colour)

With the whisk attachment on the mixer. Whisk the egg whites till foamy.
Slowly add the castor sugar and vinegar to the egg whites. When the mixture starts getting thick ,put a drop off colour into it and whisk until light and fluffy. Till it looks like clouds.

20130611-075225.jpg
Pipe small buttons onto a baking tray that is covered with a baking sheet.

20130611-075451.jpg
Place in the oven Oven must be at 100 C.
Bake for 1 hour. Switch off the oven and let it cool in the oven till cold.
Place on airtight containers.

They are nice on their own or with ice cream and cream. Enjoy

Leave a Reply

